Motorcycle USA Forums : Join the Revolution
  HomeLog InRegisterCommunity CalendarSearch the ForumHelp

Motorcycle Message Board - Motorcycle USA > MotorcycleUSA.com! > Motorcycle Garage > Vacuum leaks and problems..  Forum Quick Jump

You cannot post new topics in this forum. You cannot reply to topics in this forum. Printable Version
[ | Show Newest Post First ]

Mac_Muz
Steering Committee

Email Address Not AvailablePersonal Homepage Not AvailablePrivate Messaging Not AvailableAIM Not AvailableICQ Not AvailableY! Not AvailableMSN Not Available
Date Joined Mar 2003
Total Posts : 10321

Posted 6/24/2003 1:00 PM (GMT -7)    Quote This PostAlert An Admin About This Post.
It seems to come up over and over again some problems just nag at bike owners.
So I guess this might be the first of a series of tech tips.
For those of you that don't know me, I was a foreign car tech, and was not ever a bike tech................................................................................

Many things work the same way more or less. To me pretty much theory just is.. By rights this should be the 4th in a series.

Compression is the first test of all tests...

Spark is the 2nd test

Fuel is the 3rd test, and each of the above has a routine in order to follow, so you are not guessing.

Vac Leaks:

A vac leak is unmetered air allowed in error to get by the intake. This effects carbs and injection equally bad....

You do not want a vac leak on any engine ever, but they are very common.

Sometimes you might not know it if the leak is small, and other times a engine won't start at all. So symptoms run a broad range of what a vac leak can do.

Some symptoms are a sudden lean condition, which can result in loss of power instantly and a matching increase in fuel consumtion.

This might be found to be true if  heat cracked a vac line to the petcocks while you were riding, or the line just lifted off